His and Her Story

Hi everyone! I am "Her" - aka, Amanda. I am half of the bloggers for His and Her Hobbies. You can tell when I am talking because I always use purple text - it's my favorite color.

Sean and I started this blog to share our hobbies and interests with our friends, family, and new friends we will meet along the way.

A little about me...
I am 33 years old. I live in the same city I grew up in - just on the other side. 
I am happy to have been a Squirrel; I graduated from Mary Baldwin College in 2001. 
I have been a teacher since August of 2001 in a small town nearby. I love my students, my colleagues, and everything about my job - except my 5:00 a.m. alarm clock.
I have an adorable fur baby named Alex. He was a rescue dog that I love so much.
My parents live near us and we spend a lot of time together which makes me happy.
My family includes a sister, bro-in-law, and beautiful niece who live two states away - way too far. Also, I have a sister-in-law and two brothers-in-law who live in Australia that I wish I could see more often.


My favorite hobbies are reading, baking, and, lately, knitting. 

 G'day! I am "Him", otherwise known as Sean, the other half of the bloggers for His and Her Hobbies. I am the one that uses the red colored font since I am partial to the color red. 

Since my family all live on the other side of the world, starting this blog seemed like a good way to connect with them and share what Amanda and I like to do in our spare time.

A little about me:
          I am 35 years old and unlike Amanda am not living in the same city where I grew up. In fact I am not even in the same state, country, continent, or hemisphere. I grew up in a small city in Australia and now live in Virginia in the USA. I have been here a little over 10 years and although its been a culture shock I have enjoyed my time here.
         We didn't have mascots at our schools, but if we did at my high school I guess we would have been the Anchors since that was on our school emblem at Oxley High. Go class of '96!
         I have worked at a few different jobs since high school. I worked at a discount department store called Big W (which is similar to Walmart) as a customer service rep until I moved to America. Then I worked at a supermarket as a department manager for about a year, but the grocery industry wasn't for me. Then I spent 4 years working at Chick-Fil-A which is a fast food restaurant. It was some good times but I wanted to try something in an office setting. In 2007 I got a job in a railroad yard working as a customer service rep. I work in a small office, processing orders, scaling trucks in and out, and keeping the customers updated of any problems that may arise.
      My family (blood relatives) all live in Australia but thankfully my American family have taken me in and made me one of their own. My Australian family includes a younger brother and sister, a Timmy who will be my brother-in-law next year, about 10 aunts and uncles and 7 cousins.

My favorite hobbies are running, biking, and painting pottery at a local pottery studio.

When you see the blue text, that is both of us (get it - red and blue make purple!?! Maybe that is just how Amanda's brain works). We do a few link-ups each week and share what is happening with us each week. We hope you like what you "read' and that you will follow us through life's little journeys.



  1. I love your idea of having a common blog... I think that's romantic and a wonderful way to do something together. Take care.

  2. Nice to know you Sean and Amanda. Both sharing a common interest in blogging sounds lovely. Keep going ! Somali (Life11)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...